Matthew Collings

A Requiem for Edward Snowden

Requiems are normally composed for people who have died — Verdi’s Requiem was composed in memory of the poet Alessandro Manzoni, for example, while Britten’s War Requiem honoured those who suffered and perished during the Second World War. Edward Snowden is still alive, but it could be argued that his decision to expose the various ways in which Western governments spy upon their own electorates put another nail in the coffin holding the liberal humanist idea of benign democratically-elected institutions that are accountable to those who elect them.

Matthew Collings’ “A Requiem for Edward Snowden” will receive its world première on 11th October 2014 at the Reid Concert Hall in Edinburgh, with a small ensemble including Collings himself on electronics and electric guitar, Peter Furniss on clarinet, Justyna Jablonska on cello, Emma Lloyd on violin, and Jules Rawlinson on visuals and electronics. Fluid Radio’s own James Catchpole recently reviewed Collings’ recent releases on Denovali and came away suitably impressed, so this looks like a performance not to be missed.

Tickets for the première are free, but must be reserved in advance. The event is organised by New Media Scotland, with funding from Creative Scotland

Date: 11th October 2014 8pm
Location: Reid Concert Hall, Bristo Square, Edinburgh EH8 9AG
Book tickets

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.